Redeemer Lutheran Church

611 W. Court Street | New Hampton, Iowa

Near the hospital and a few blocks from the high school, you can find Redeemer Lutheran Church on a quiet residential street in New Hampton, Iowa. This warm and caring congregation has been a proud member of the community since 1940.

Our Congregation

Our Congregation

An active group of members meets here every Saturday afternoon. Attending the Divine Service is our most important activity each week. This is the time that we receive God’s gifts and respond with prayer and thanksgiving.

Our Ladies Aid and Men’s Club groups meet each month for Bible Study, fellowship, and event planning. The Ladies Aid hosts a Spring Luncheon and Fall Soup Supper each year, where their homemade pies are famous (at least around here).

Our Background

Our Background

Redeemer Lutheran Church was established by members of the Saude and Jerico congregations as members began to move from country to town. In 1953, the congregation purchased a country church building and moved it to its present location. Redeemer is a member church of the Evangelical Lutheran Synod (ELS).

The ELS enjoys church fellowship with the Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod (WELS). Along with other Lutheran church bodies around the world, the ELS and WELS are part of the Confessional Evangelical Lutheran Conference (CELC).

Redeemer enjoyed a long partnership with Trinity Lutheran Church in Calmar. In 2018, it entered into a three-point parish arrangement with the Saude and Jerico Lutheran congregations. To learn more about us, please click the link below and visit our History page.

Early History of Redeemer Lutheran Church

Our Pastors

Our Pastors

Our congregation has been blessed with excellent pastors through the years:

1940-1942 — Nils C. Oesleby
1942-1945 — N. S. Tjernagel (vacancy)
1946-1959 — Howard L. Bremer
1959-1961 — M. E. Tweit (vacancy)
1961-1965 — David Lillegard
1965-1967 — Willard Olson
1968-1980 — Herbert Larson
1980-1987 — E. C. F. Stubenvoll IV
1987-1996 — Mark Marozick
1996-2007 — Harvey Abrahamson
2007-2014 — Glenn Smith
2014-2016 — Jesse DeDeyne
2017-pres. — Peter J. Faugstad


611 W. Court St. New Hampton, IA 50659


Copyright 2020 © Saude, Jerico, & Redeemer Lutherans. All rights reserved.